Kacey Musgraves’ New Album ‘Deeper Well’ Is Coming Soon

2024-02-08T18:58:34+00:00February 8th, 2024|News|

The title track for the 14-song album arrived the same day as her announcement.

On the heels of winning her seventh Grammy honor Feb. 4 (for best country duo/group performance with Zach Bryan for “I Remember Everything”), Kacey Musgraves will release her fifth studio album, Deeper Well, on March 15, via Interscope/MCA Nashville. The project follows her previous project, Star-Crossed, which released in 2021. In announcing the album, Musgraves released the song and video for the project’s title track, marking an acoustic-based song with the singer musing about life shifts and choices made along the way.

Musgraves co-produced the 14-track Deeper Well alongside her longtime collaborators Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk, who also worked on her Grammy-winning Golden Hour project as well as Star-Crossed. While she crafted most of the songs with Fitchuk and Tashian, Musgraves also reunited with Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne, her co-writers on the Grammy-winning song “Merry Go Round,” as well as much of her earlier works, for the new contemplative song “The Architect.”

In a statement, Musgraves noted that she took inspiration for the new album from the energy in New York City’s Greenwich Village and that she recorded the project at the iconic Electric Lady studios.

A release details a range of inspirations that dot the lyrics of the new album, which “serve as a lens focusing on moments of life that often go unnoticed, turning them into timeless songs that strike a chord deep within listeners. Saturn returns, cardinals embody a dead friend, love is given and taken, streets rush by, belongings are packed and old chapters deserted, new love blooms, jade bracelets serve as talismans, deep lessons emerge, small details define everything, the woods are a refuge and New York City serves as the same gleaming beacon as Oz.”

“I was seeking some different environmental energy, and Electric Lady has the best mojo. Great ghosts,” noted Musgraves in a statement. “Sometimes you reach a crossroads. Winds change direction. What you once felt drawn to doesn’t hold the same allure, you get blown off course but eventually find your footing and forage for new inspiration, new insight and deeper love somewhere else.”

See the full track listing for Deeper Well below:

1. “Cardinal”
2. “Deeper Well”
3. “Too Good to be True”
4. “Moving Out”
5. “Giver / Taker”
6. “Sway”
7. “Dinner With Friends”
8. “Heart of the Woods”
9. “Jade Green”
10. “The Architect”
11. “Lonely Millionaire”
12. “Heaven Is”
13. “Anime Eyes”
14. “Nothing to Be Scared Of”

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top